now
then
details, baby
pass me a note
seaofangels
Learn
five good things
new york times
los angeles times
la weekly
village voice
citybeat
time
newsweek
q
mojo
nme
venus
new yorker
paper
la magazine
the guardian
Look
pretty pictures
suza scalora
moca
lacma
getty
bergamot
moma
metropolitan
whitney
guggenheim
Listen
amoeba
aron's
sea level
kexp.seattle
kxlu.los angeles
kcrw.santa monica
indie.los angeles
Leave
the modern age
catherine's pita
kimya
dear ida
mad orange fools
catchdubs
katherine hall
kate sullivan
bookslut
designed by lex
hosted by..

- last entry / next entry -

Thursday, Apr. 17, 2003 | 9:28 pm
Sha-la-la-la...
Okay, Britney, listen up. When a crazy man is stalking you, you sue his ass off and send him to prison for years and years. You do not--repeat, YOU DO NOT--settle out of court with him.

In late-notice concert news, Evan Dando is playing McCabe's in Santa Monica on April 20th. (Remember the last time he played there? He lost his shit and began smashing somebody's radio in the parking lot. Good stuff!)

And in New York, Hem is headlining the Live From Home benefit concert at Used Book Caf� on Friday, April 18th. Sorry for the late notice, but really, I'm just one girl, not a freakin' Ticketmaster, y'know?

What is it about that MTV show "Punk'd"? I love watching it, and I have no idea why. It's mean-spirited and I'm ready to shoot Ashton Kutcher with a tranquilizer dart, but it's oddly riveting. MTV does it again.

Remember the very last episode of "My So-Called Life" when Angela chose Jordan and they drove off together in his car while Brian Krakow kept circling around on his bike? Still breaks my heart. Anyway, the whole point of that story is that the Krakow-ster is starring in a new movie.

And if you're big into movies this weekend, please note that "Raising Victor Vargas" has finally made its way to L.A.

A lot of people I know are freaking out over the new James Frey book "A Million Little Pieces". I reallyreally want to read it, but I hear there's some scenes involving a root canal and no anesthesia. I practically faint just thinking about it.

I have no idea why I thought of this, but wasn't the "Family Ties" theme song one of the best songs ever?!

Jack & Meg from the White Stripes are on the cover of this month's Interview. Oddly enough, though, they don't have a website. Of all the magazines...They're also on the cover of Blender, and someone over at the message board was kind enough to post the scans. How did Jack White ever manage to find the perfect red lipstick? Really, it's stunning.


Wednesday, Apr. 16, 2003 | 7:47 am
Leave all the others, baby, say I'm the only one...
The Whitney Museum cancelled their expansion due to budget problems. Sounds just like the public school system.

I know this is about a week old, but just in case you're as out of the loop as I am, a lot of happy, happy bands are playing Summer Stage in New York. Good, now we're all up to speed.

Question: What kind of ice cream do all those right-wing media pundits eat? Answer: "I Hate the French Vanilla", possibly topped off with a scoop of "Im-Peach Clinton". Yep, it's a good day to be a Democrat.

Now that the farmers markets have stopped being rained out, hurry and hit up your local one for honey, strawberries, and arugula. I don't know what to do with arugula, either, but it's fun to buy!

The Village Voice goes deep into the seedy world of NYU dorms and finds...well, not much of anything, really.

Finally! Somebody asks the important question of why publishing doesn't pay. Don't get me started on this one.

Oh, Pete Yorn, I'd go bowling with you on a school day anytime. If you need to buy his CD, they have it at Target and Best Buy for only $5.99. Funny how that fits right into my budget.


Monday, Apr. 14, 2003 | 7:58 am
Red rain is comin' down, pourin' down all over me...
A question for this wet Monday morning. Is there anyone else who's terrified of that giant "Finding Nemo" poster on Sunset Boulevard? Driving east every day, there's this huge shark leering at me and it shivers me down to my toes. If you work at Disney, please ask someone to either move the poster or make the shark's teeth smaller and less numerous.

It appears that Dear Ida and I aren't the only ones obsessed with that pink Gap raincoat. If you can't your hands on one, here's some other raingear that's equally pretty and fun.

Andr� Leon Talley from Vogue admires Emma Bovary. No doubt she would be thrilled by this news.

Who's the coolest "herky-jerky band" around? Why, it's Hot Hot Heat, of course.

Sherman Alexie's latest book, "10 Little Indians" is coming out this month, but if you simply cannot wait, there's a lovely Q&A over at the New Yorker. Somewhere right now, the lovely Johanna is swooning.

If you can fit it into your work schedule, try to listen to "Lamacq Live" today at noon pacific, 3pm eastern. It's the White Stripes with the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. That'll break you out of the afternoon doldrums.

Since it's raining out today and everyone's motivation is at an all-time low, tonight is the best night ever for a Fred Astaire & Ginger Rogers double feature on TCM. Hey, it beats watching "Married by America", don't you think?


Friday, Apr. 11, 2003 | 8:05 am
Went to the Apollo, you should've seen 'em go go go...
Where's the coolest place to meet 'n greet in New York? The lobby of your apartment building. Fuzzy slippers are optional.

Why do people do this? "Walk on the Wild Side" is one of the coolest songs of all time, but Lou Reed decided that it needs a little updating to reflect the current war with Iraq. I can't even bring myself to listen to it yet. If I'm missing something, please let me know.

"Shut the hell up!" say the people of Austin to their local musicians. What a bunch of crabapples.

Pretty park and flower news for both coasts this morning! First off, Rockefeller Center is hosting the annual International Orchid Show, which means you can walk around and look at strange, exotic flowers and their equally strange, exotic owners.

(Photo Credit: Mayita Mendez/Newsday)

And in LA, we have public parks galore, complete with tulip beds and old crumbling statues. It's so romantic, no?


Wednesday, Apr. 09, 2003 | 10:10 pm
Pearls in the sky are strung 'round the moon...
Rolling Stone has gone all twitterpated for the White Stripes, complete with a Jack White Q&A and a message board entitled "Are the White Stripes all that?" What is this, Ricki Lake?

Add the LA Weekly to the "I'm In Love with the White Stripes" list. And they make a point to hate everything, so you know they're head over heels for Jack & Meg.

And finally, Jack reminisces about his time in Romania:

"There was this Romanian dance troupe there, and they had rehearsed a couple of numbers�"Fell In Love With A Girl" and "I Think I Smell A Rat"�to dance with us when we played behind them. So there were these very clumsy Romanian dancers in these '20s flapper outfits in this Communist cabaret theater with Nicole Kidman and Jude Law dancing in front of us. It was very odd. [Laughs.] " I can honestly say that this has never happened to me.

I know I still haven't figured out how I feel about Bright Eyes, but Conor Oberst is doing an acoustic set on KCRW Thursday morning at 11:15am, so maybe that will motivate me to pick a side.

I love the NY Observer. Check out the headline for their Evan Dando album review: "Former Drug-Addled Ass Dando Makes Strong Comeback Album". They cut right to the chase, don't they?

Okay, did you know that Liam Lynch is from Akron, Ohio?? Does that not sound like the most British name imaginable?

It's the adorable Tegan & Sara. I don't know what's better, their music or their between-song arguments.

Check out Hem's live performance on KEXP. I recommend listening to "Sailor". Actually, I recommend listening to the entire CD.


Tuesday, Apr. 08, 2003 | 8:13 am
It's all right Friday night to Sunday...
Oh, so sad. Cecile de Brunhoff, the woman who invented the "Babar" books, passed away last night in Paris. Go read a book today on your lunch break, okay?

The New York Times reviews the Stripes and gets kinda cranky with them. But everyone else seemed to love their first UK show last night.

And for those of us who cannot make it to Europe, check out the new video for "Seven Nation Army", featuring Jack, Meg, and a big giant red elephant! (Not as scary as it sounds, I promise.)

Sometimes the New York Post reminds me of that one aunt you have that's always trying to be cool, but never quite gets there. This was illustrated today by their invention of the "neo post-punk" music category when talking about Hot Hot Heat. What the hell is "neo post-punk"? Anyone?

Then I read the Daily News, who one-upped the Post by comparing Fischerspooner to Britney Spears and "Phantom of the Opera". No irony intended. That's impressive.

Have you seen "Bend It Like Beckham" yet? I did, and it's a great Saturday afternoon movie. The star of the film, Parminder Nagra, thinks you should go see it, too.

Britt Daniel from Spoon gets a little irritated while record shopping at Kim's. Rock stars...there's just no pleasing them.


Friday, Apr. 04, 2003 | 8:12 am
I found this photograph underneath the broken picture glass...
I must begin this Friday morning with a rant. So I'm reading Jane last night (the one with Beck & Heather Graham on the cover--why God, why?) and it's their celebrity issue. So there's a tiny snippet from Lacey Chabert (i.e. the violin-playing moppet from "Party of Five") talking about her skincare regime. Naturally, I'm intrigued. But then she starts talking about how she wears SPF, like, 1000 because she can't get wrinkles because Hollywood is all about youth. What the hell? How old is she, twenty or something like that? This is worse than those L'Oreal commercials with Natalie Imbruglia going "I'm not thirty...yet." Anyway, thank you for listening. I feel better already.

Hee hee, Sebastian Bach got fired from the touring company of "Jesus Christ Superstar" because of undisclosed--but not illegal--reasons. What, Jesus doesn't wear leather pants that lace up the sides?

Oh, you lucky lucky New Yorkers. You get to go see Bj�rk perform at Coney Island on August 22nd. You guys have all the fun. Maybe you could convince her to head west while you're there?

If you're feeling all "I need culture" this weekend, go to the Nan Goldin exhibit "Heartbeat" at the Matthew Marks gallery. How gorgeous (and aptly-named) is this shot? "Pink Sky From Airplane, 2001" Matthew Marks Gallery, 523 West 24th Street, 212.243.0200

Say whatever you want, I'm a big Pete Yorn fan. This works out well for me, since I'm going to be listening to his live set on KCRW's "Morning Becomes Eclectic" next Tuesday at 11:15am. Tickets for his May 29th show at the Wiltern go on sale this morning at 11am, as well. What a bummer that I can't go.

Oh, and don't forget to set your clocks ahead one hour this weekend. Like we need to lose more sleep.


Thursday, Apr. 03, 2003 | 8:14 am
It don't mean a thing if it ain't got that swing...
Do you hear wedding bells? You do if you're Liv Tyler. She married the guy from Spacehog, which is quite possibly the worst band name ever. Regardless, happy trails to them!

If you live in LA, try to check out Bricktops at the Parlour Club, a speakeasy/20s jazz club on Santa Monica Blvd. If you've ever wanted to be a flapper, your prayers have finally been answered.

But if you're more of a "sit in the dark and watch movies" kind of person, go to Film Radar, where you can find out what revival and special films are playing around town. Sooo much easier than thumbing through the Weekly, let me tell you.

Lou Reed is touring again, this time in support of his upcoming 2-disc greatest hits collection. He's hitting Bowery Ballroom on April 21st and 22nd, and then swinging into LA on June 24th at the Wiltern, so now you have no excuse to not go.

Oh, and Mad Orange Fools gets my "Hero of the Day" Award for making an entire post about rollerskating and Francesca Lia Block. Brilliance, sheer brilliance.


Wednesday, Apr. 02, 2003 | 8:07 am
I miss my clean white linen and my fancy french cologne...
Sadly, after Jennifer Garner's career took off, I thought it was only a matter of time before this happened. Pity.

Would you take sex advice from your grandmother? You would if she had her own talk show on the subject. Go Granny!

I wanted to quote so many lines from this Kelly Osbourne review in the New York Times, but then I got sidetracked trying to figure out why they were even reviewing her in the first place. And am I the last to know that she and her boyfriend broke up?

These two friends have been working at Coney Island for over 25 years. Something to warm your heart on this cold morning.

I can't say that I've ever once had a craving for pistachio-sage rice pudding, nor do I plan on it any time soon, but you might have a different idea.

MTV has outdone itself yet again by offering up the most boring White Stripes article I've ever read. My eyes glazed over once I read about their lack of a bass player.

If you're trying to reach me tonight, don't. I'll be parked in front of my television, watching the 90-minute Joni Mitchell documentary on PBS.

She is the bee's knees, I'm telling you.


Tuesday, Apr. 01, 2003 | 8:05 am
Breakin' the law, breakin' the law...
Y'know, forget the CIA, the FBI, the police force, all of them. Just let The Smoking Gun find the criminals. Like "American Idol" contestant Corey Clark, who got booted from the show after it was revealed that he assaulted his teenage sister and then resisted arrest. Moron. They should've used the stun gun.

Can you believe that MTV uses product placement to gain revenue?!? What about integrity and morals and and the dedication to featuring good music? Oh, that's right...

It's the first Tuesday of the month, and you know what that means! Yes indeed, the White Stripes are on the cover of this week's NME. They're answering all the questions that you've ever wanted to know. About the band, that is.

Pretty pretty Beth Orton music to start your morning off right.

Oh, and here's a helpful reminder for all of you that pay rent: it's the first of the month. Pay your damn rent. (Isn't it amazing how you can almost forget every single month?)


Monday, Mar. 31, 2003 | 8:18 am
Nightswimming deserves a quiet night...
Is there anything better than spring in New York City? (Side note: Does NYU still have a Strawberry Festival? Someone keep me informed, please!)

McSweeney's new Believer Magazine is on its way to a newsstand near you, and frankly, I'm itching to get my hands on a copy. So are a lot of other people in Los Angeles.

This isn't your mother's Beautiful People list. Paper selects the prettiest of the pretty in their latest issue. Now go freshen your lipstick and do something with your hair.

Expect White Stripes mania to hit an all-time high this week, since "Elephant" is releasing tomorrow. Q Magazine helps in their own special way by having White Stripes week, complete with video fixtures, reviews, and interviews. That is so sweet of them! And speaking of sweet, check out The Guardian interview with America's sweethearts.

If you're trying to stay cool in Los Angeles's current heatwave, head for the air-conditioned Gagosian Gallery in Beverly Hills so you can see Edward Ruscha's new photography show. The man says he's a painter, not a photographer, but don't believe him for a second.


- last entry / next entry -

what you missed:
I'd rather be working for a paycheck than waiting to win the lottery... - Monday, Apr. 03, 2006
I remember when I lost my mind, there was something so pleasant about that phase... - Friday, Mar. 24, 2006
The stars came falling on our heads, but they're just old light... - Monday, Mar. 20, 2006
I leave the party at 3am. Alone, thank God... - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
You're a sweet, sweet girl, but's it's a cruel, cruel world... - Thursday, Feb. 16, 2006

free web site hit counter