now
then
details, baby
pass me a note
seaofangels
Learn
five good things
new york times
los angeles times
la weekly
village voice
citybeat
time
newsweek
q
mojo
nme
venus
new yorker
paper
la magazine
the guardian
Look
pretty pictures
suza scalora
moca
lacma
getty
bergamot
moma
metropolitan
whitney
guggenheim
Listen
amoeba
aron's
sea level
kexp.seattle
kxlu.los angeles
kcrw.santa monica
indie.los angeles
Leave
the modern age
catherine's pita
kimya
dear ida
mad orange fools
catchdubs
katherine hall
kate sullivan
bookslut
designed by lex
hosted by..

- last entry / next entry -

Friday, Feb. 28, 2003 | 7:42 am
Nobody lingers like your hands on my heart...
Woo, it's Friday. I have never needed a weekend this badly in my life. The job is much less stressful now, though. I walked into work the other day and the staff was playing Sleater-Kinney's "One Beat". Then I got upstairs to my office and the guy next to me was listening to Guided By Voices' "Isolation Drills". Not a bad way to start the morning.

As we all probably know by now, PJ Harvey has a new album on its way. But did you know Marianne Faithfull is co-writing some of the songs? See, you learn something new every day.

The Cure will never die. Robert Smith just signed a 3-album contract with Ross Robinson, who also produced records for Slipknot and Korn. That's quite an interesting pairing.

Paul Auster has a new book out, titled "The Story of My Typewriter", with accompanying artwork by Sam Messer. It's like a mini-coffee table book, perfect for those of us who live in teeny-weeny spaces (on teeny-weeny budgets).

Here's an older interview with Sarah Vowell, one of the smartest political commentators in recent memory. My goal is to read "The Partly Cloudy Patriot" by the end of spring. Let's hope it actually happens.

And finally, some upcoming concerts that you should know about. It's important to be up-to-date.

Death Cab For Cutie at the Troubador on March 9th, The Troubador, 9081 Santa Monica Blvd., 8pm. $12.50

Sahara Hotnights at the Roxy on March 19th & 20th, Roxy, 9009 Sunset Blvd., 8pm, $10

The Datsuns at the Troubador on April 12th & 13th. See above for all important location info stuff.


Thursday, Feb. 27, 2003 | 7:47 am
Let's make the most of this beautiful day...
I cried this morning when I found out that Mr. Rogers passed away. I used to watch his show every day before going to kindergarten. Tom Junod at Esquire wrote a lovely obituary, but if you want to read more about Mr. Rogers' career, check out Salon's "Brilliant Careers" piece from 1999.

The son of Henri Matisse's estate has given the Met over 100 pieces of artwork, including their first Ren� Magritte works. How nice was that?

If you're wondering how they transport artwork from museum to museum, here's the answer. I can't figure out if this would be a hugely stressful job or a really fun one. I'll probably never know the answer to that, either.

Ryan Adams has a new album coming out at some point. According to him, though, "I don't even know what the fuck I'm doing. It's definitely more fucked up than any other record I've ever made. I don't know what the fuck it is." Sounds like a plan! (If you check out his posts at the Ryan Adams MB, it seems that Ryan is not enjoying his time in Los Angeles. Shocker.)

The band Ryan Adams loves to hate (the White Stripes to you and me) has full scans of this week's NME cover story available (link from TT).

The LA Weekly reviews last week's shows with Cat Power, Ben Kweller, and Interpol. They all get thumbs-up.

And speaking of Cat Power, she's live today on "Morning Becomes Eclectic". Again, if you need to listen live, check it out at 11:15am Pacific.

Remember Rock the Vote? If not, don't worry. It's making a comeback.


Wednesday, Feb. 26, 2003 | 7:57 am
Stake right through the heart....
I had forgotten how stressful starting a new job is. If anyone knows any cheap stress-busting tips, please tell me. I will be ever so grateful.

Maybe I should just drink some hot chocolate and learn to calm down. I think that would solve a lot of problems. See, it even looks soothing.

(Photo Credit: Tony Cenicola/NY Times)

Apparently I'm not the only one who's stressed over her job. Sarah Michelle Gellar is leaving "Buffy" at the end of the season. Let's hope she has a very, very solid movie career planned.

The White Stripes are gracing NME's cover this week. And they look kinda mean.

Are you going to South by Southwest this year? It starts March 12th, so you better buy your plane tickets soon. Take this list with you, too, so you can make the most of your five days in Austin.

Longwave talk about the Strokes on MTV's "You Hear It First". That is hands down the most aptly-named feature on MTV.

If you're an aspiring screenwriter (and who isn't these days?), maybe this woman can help you figure out some of Hollywood's little-known secrets. Or not.

Do you want to hear Pete Yorn's new single "Come Back Home"? Check out Sounds Eclectic's "Weekend Players". It's in Hour 2, starting around 30:17. God bless public radio.


Tuesday, Feb. 25, 2003 | 7:50 am
Strike a pose, there's nothing to it...
The Los Angeles Times greeted me this morning with a fabulous profile of DJ Jason Bentley, the host of "Metropolis" on KCRW.

Speaking of KCRW, Interpol is performing live this morning on "Morning Becomes Eclectic". Too far away to listen in your car? Then listen live at 11:15am Pacific. Good times.

If you're debating whether or not to loan your priceless Manet to the Met for its exhibit next month, you better read this first. Thank me later.

Lou Reed and the Dandy Warhols are touring the UK. That helps me not at all, but maybe some of you lovely people will benefit.

Cat Power has announced tour dates for the US. Did you know she's on the cover of Venus Magazine this month? Better run over to Tower on your lunch break so you can read the article. It's good, I promise.

Madonna is thinking about opening an art show in Soho in the spring. Why, for the love of God, why? Starving artists everywhere are weeping in agony.

If you are one of the three people that haven't yet heard songs off the White Stripes' new album "Elephant", then head over to NME for a very complicated procedure that will let you hear up to 3 new tracks. By the time you figure out how it works, the album will already be out, so maybe you should just wait.

Jack White explains how "Seven Nation Army" came to be. "I used to call the Salvation Army 'Seven Nation Army' because I thought that's what the name was," says he. Awww, that's adorable!


Sunday, Feb. 23, 2003 | 7:51 pm
Oh, man, did we have fun...
Tomorrow is Take 2 for First Day of New Job, so I'm updating on Sunday night. Hence the reason I won't be making fun of the Grammys in this update. Be patient, I'll be in fine form by tomorrow night, I'm sure.

White Stripes dates from the official mailing list:

4/15 - DETROIT The Scottish Rite Theatre (inside the Masonic Temple building)

4/16 - DETROIT Masonic Temple (Main Theater)

4/19 - NEW YORK CITY Hammerstein Ballroom

4/20 - BOSTON Orpheum

4/27 - INDIO, CA Coachella Music and Arts Festival

4/28 - SAN FRANCISCO Warfield

4/29 - SAN FRANCISCO Warfield

4/30 - SAN DIEGO Soma

Single and ready to mingle! The Strokes & Justin Timberlake hit the Clive Davis Grammy Pre-Party. It also appears that guitarist Nick Valensi made a narrow escape from the Reagle Beagle before going to the party. (Thanks to The Strokes MB for the biggie picture.)

A new musical celebrating artist Keith Haring is opening at the Public Theatre next Sunday. Does anyone want to fly me to New York so I can go? Anyone?

People are still fawning all over Ryan McGinley and his show at the Whitney. I think he makes the old people feel young and hip.

The special fashion issue of the New York Times Magazine explains why Eve is not ghetto-fabulous.

Exactly one week until "Six Feet Under" is back on HBO! I have to tape it and mail 6 episodes at a time to my lovely friend Katy in Seattle, since she has no cable. I do it because I care.

The Getty is opening a Lee Miller & Man Ray exhibit on Tuesday, February 25th. Why a Tuesday? I have no idea.

The New Yorker get all a-quiver over Motor City Maniacs, also known as Detroit rock bands.

Oh, goodness, the Grammys just started, and Simon & Garfunkel have reunited. No, I'm not crying, I just have...sniffle...something in my eye. Let me distract you with five good things.


Friday, Feb. 21, 2003 | 3:34 pm
Tonight I'll dream while I'm in bed...
All this White Stripes brouhaha is so much fun, I love it! You know about the two San Francisco shows at the Warfield, onsale 2/23 at 10am. And 91X Radio in San Diego is reporting a 4/30 show at Soma. Tickets are on sale 2/28 at 1pm.

Um, Jack & Meg, don't be scared of L.A., please! Don't drive right around us. We're lovely people, I promise.

Pearl River has a new location on Broadway & Grand. Are you somewhere in Toledo and can't get there? Then try their online store instead.

Fader Magazine has The Rapture on their latest cover. The newsstands are more up-to-date than their website, however. Search it out over the weekend.


Friday, Feb. 21, 2003 | 7:57 am
I'm just a girl in the world....
New Yorkers, listen up: No Doubt's playing the Hammerstein Ballroom this Monday, February 24th. Hot Hot Heat's opening. Tickets are on sale at Ticketmaster right now. Go! Have fun!

Today is bookstore Midnight Special's last day on the Third Street Promenade before they move to parts unknown. Maybe you should stop by after work and say goodbye, no?

The New York Times has gone all warm and gushy over the new Matthew Barney show at the Guggenheim. If I may quote: "Hands down, he is, at just shy of 36, the most compelling, richly imaginative artist to emerge in years." Wow. Guggenheim Museum, 1071 Fifth Avenue, at 89th Street, (212)423-3500, through June 11, 2003.

Page Six is reporting that Anthony Kiedis received just under $1,000,000 to write his memoirs for Hyperion. What can he say that wasn't already covered in the Chili Peppers' "Behind the Music" episode?

If I didn't work in my current job, then I'd want to be a contortionist in Cirque du Soleil. That's not gonna happen any time soon, though, so my second dream career is to be a concert-level cellist. Again, this won't be happening any time soon.

Bono, you type-A overachiever. It's not enough that you front a band and campaign for third-world issues. Now you're on the short list for the Nobel Peace Prize. Yeah, but can you walk and chew gum at the same time?


Thursday, Feb. 20, 2003 | 8:17 am
Oh, baby, drive away to Malibu...
Diagnosis update? Apparently I've been hit with both the flu AND bronchitis. Oh, yes, it's been much fun around here. Luckily I have orange juice, antibiotics, and my always-healthy sense of humor.

The Roxy, the Whisky, and the Troubador are good clubs, declares the LA Times. Investigative journalism goes slightly soft in the winter months, I guess.

Ben Kweller talks about why he's glad he's not famous, and why he needs to find a giant strawberry. These tempermental artists...

Want your band to get signed? You better move to Malibu. It's where all the cool kids are. Just remember to pack your sunscreen, okay?

Oh, Maya Rudolph, you are too funny.

An article/review on Massive Attack's new album, "1000 Windows". When I get better, I'm going to go buy this CD, I swear.

The White Stripes' album release date is now April 1st, due to internet leaking. Make sure to catch up with Jack & Meg as they chat and smoke. (link from Modern Age)

And check out the promo cover of "Seven Nation Army", the first single. So lovely.


Tuesday, Feb. 18, 2003 | 5:49 pm
'Cause she's the cheese and I'm the macaroni!
Oh how I've missed you kittens. The past few days have been a whirlwind, but not due to my new job. That's been postponed for several days since I have the flu and haven't been able to get out of bed for the past three days. Yeah, it's been fun. Gatorade and Saltines are my new best friends.

But did I hear something about snow? You East Coast people look like you're freezing your asses off...but I hope you're enjoying your snow days.

It looks like L.A. finally caught up with the love for Zooey Deschanel. We're such followers, I know.

And while I was semi-conscious, the line-up for Coachella was announced. Too many amazing bands to talk about, so I'll just name some randomly: White Stripes. Beastie Boys. Hot Hot Heat. Mooney Suzuki. Red Hot Chili Peppers. Ben Harper. Joseph Arthur. Cat Power. Yeah, it's gonna be that good.

Scheduling Fiasco of the Day: I won't be able to attend said Coachella Fest, however, since I'll be working at the LA Times Festival of Books. Why, oh why, do they insist on scheduling these events on the same weekend ever single year?!? What's so wrong with April 19-20? Guys, please. You're slowly driving me mad.


- last entry / next entry -

what you missed:
I'd rather be working for a paycheck than waiting to win the lottery... - Monday, Apr. 03, 2006
I remember when I lost my mind, there was something so pleasant about that phase... - Friday, Mar. 24, 2006
The stars came falling on our heads, but they're just old light... - Monday, Mar. 20, 2006
I leave the party at 3am. Alone, thank God... - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
You're a sweet, sweet girl, but's it's a cruel, cruel world... - Thursday, Feb. 16, 2006

free web site hit counter