now
then
details, baby
pass me a note
seaofangels
Learn
five good things
new york times
los angeles times
la weekly
village voice
citybeat
time
newsweek
q
mojo
nme
venus
new yorker
paper
la magazine
the guardian
Look
pretty pictures
suza scalora
moca
lacma
getty
bergamot
moma
metropolitan
whitney
guggenheim
Listen
amoeba
aron's
sea level
kexp.seattle
kxlu.los angeles
kcrw.santa monica
indie.los angeles
Leave
the modern age
catherine's pita
kimya
dear ida
mad orange fools
catchdubs
katherine hall
kate sullivan
bookslut
designed by lex
hosted by..

- last entry / next entry -

Friday, Jan. 31, 2003 | 2:18 pm
SPF 45 is your friend...
News flash: if you can't make it to the Whitney in the next four months, check out Ryan McGinley's photos of The Strokes when they were featured in the New York Times Magazine. Definitely better than the Sears Portrait Studio.

Put on your yodeling caps, Jewel has a new album coming out. "It's really a weird combination -- part dance, part hip-hop, part folk," she says. Didn't she just get thrown off a horse and hit her head recently? That would explain a lot.

Thank God we still have Jeff Tweedy. Don't leave us, okay? We need you now more than ever!

Aside from getting all the Pink Pearl erasers they want and wearing tweed jackets with elbow patches, writers also get their own private room at the New York Public Library. Starving artists, my ass. Those rooms are bigger than my apartment!

Sunday is Groundhog Day, so here's some trivia for you: did you know that groundhogs poke their heads out of the ground not to see their shadow, but to get their freak on? Maybe this year we should give Punxsutawney Phil some privacy, if you know what I'm sayin'.

T-Shirt of the Day: Thanks to the ever-intrepid Adri, who was on a plane this morning with a girl whose baby tee (are people really still wearing those?) read "No Tan Lines Beyond This Point". I don't think it was meant to be ironic. Can someone please pass me an aspirin?


Friday, Jan. 31, 2003 | 9:25 am
Don't want to be on top of your list...
Oh, happy happy Friday! The sun is shining, the coffee is percolating, and the Jackson 5 are telling me that the love I save may be my own. Life is so good.

Remember Hot Wheels cars? McG wants to make a movie about them. More specifically, he wants to make a movie that has "all the warmth and humanity of your favorite James Dean movie." Well...sure, okay. Personally, I think a movie about Big Wheels would be more entertaining, but hey, what do I know about it?

When they're not busy protesting a possible war, Massive Attack have a new album coming out on February 11th called "1000 Windows". Why don't they just title it "The Make-Out Album"? That's what everyone's going to be calling it.

So I freely admit to watching "American Idol" (go Frenchie!), but I put my foot down at "Joe Millionaire". That doesn't stop me from reading the recaps on Television Without Pity, though. I want these writers to narrate my life--they would make it so much funnier and entertaining than it really is.

While film producer Robert Evans is not the sort of person I would look to for advice, I have to admire this quote: "Someone once told me that the three most dangerous things in life are your own mouth, someone else's mouth, and a car. Adding a cell phone to the mix can only lead to disaster." Someone should needlepoint and frame these words.

Ryan McGinley, photo editor for Vice Magazine, has a photography show opening tomorrow at the Whitney. Isn't that a nice way to start off the shortest month of the year? Whitney Museum of American Art, 945 Madison Avenue (at 75th Street), New York, 212/570-3676. Until May 18, 2003.

NOTE: The Whitney website is work-safe. Vice Magazine's? Not so much. Wait until you're home before clicking. Or just use your bitchy co-worker's computer when she's at lunch. Whatever's convenient for you.


Thursday, Jan. 30, 2003 | 1:40 pm
Smile for the camera...
Pete Yorn's new album "Day I Forgot" is being released on April 22. Now if I only I could find my copy of "musicforthe morningafter". It's gone missing. If you see it, let me know, okay?

The LA Weekly interviewed Lou Reed about his current project, "The Raven", and lived to tell the tale. (Is it just me, or does Lou look like he's doing a Ray-Ban ad?)

Those White Stripes are everywhere today! First comes word from Triple Tremelo that John Peel played three new songs from "Elephant" on his January 29th show. And now it turns out that vinyl isn't just cool, it also foils bootleggers, at least according to Jack & Meg.

It was very nice of Paper Magazine to make a whole list of cool L.A. things. Yay to Skylight Books and Amoeba, but guys, The Saddle Ranch Chop House? C'mon, you can do better than that!

Photo Caption of the Day: Even better than these too-cute photos of Fab & Drew is the caption that accompanies some of them: "Drew Barrymore and boyfriend Fabrizio Moretti approached by a man, apparently a construction worker and her fan."

It's nice to know that even regular Joe Schmoes are subject to ridicule by the paparazzi.


Thursday, Jan. 30, 2003 | 9:22 am
East side love is living on the west end...
Yay! The lovely Josh Benton is featured in this morning's New York Times for his CD Mix of the Month Club (of which I am a wholehearted member). Play that funky music...

This is so weird, because just the other day I was thinking, "Hmmm, I wonder what Corey Feldman's up to this weekend?"

The new Chili Peppers video is rarin' to go, featuring Flea with markers up his nose and John Frusciante frolicking in pink Styrofoam peanuts. Frankly, I expected nothing less.

Savion Glover is in L.A. with "Bring in da Noise, Bring in da Funk". Even more entertaining than the show is hearing people say the title out loud. Hee. Ahmanson Theatre, 135 North Grand Avenue, 213/628-2772

It's stories like this that make this webpage so much fun: Russian lawyers are reportedly going to sue Warner Bros. because Dobby, the house elf in "Harry Potter & the Chamber of Secrets" bears a too-strong resemblance to Russian president Vladimir Putin. Oh, God, please let this story be true!


Wednesday, Jan. 29, 2003 | 1:56 pm
I'll pick up dandelions and I'll give them to you...
The more things change, the more they stay the same. The Fox Family Channel is bringing back "Dance Fever". Somewhere in America, Adrian Zmed is frantically dialing his agent.

Ever since we lost The New Times, Los Angeles newsstands have been lacking that little je ne sais quoi. Ex-Mayor Richard Riordan took notice and made his own newspaper. How efficient!

Remember analogies from the SAT? Here's one for you.

2002 : Liam Lynch's "United States of Whatever"::

2003 : Powerpuff Girls' "Love Makes the World Go Round"

Call it a hunch...

Moron of the Day: I'd like to take this opportunity to thank whichever neighbor of mine stole my Sunday New York Times off my doorstep the other day. That was super-cool of you. I can only hope that the next time the hot water pipes break in our building, you suffer their wrath. Jerk.


Wednesday, Jan. 29, 2003 | 9:47 am
Pukka up!
Let's just jump right in, shall we? Lots to do, lots to discuss.

First off, a big hello & howdy to those of you visiting from Catherine's Pita! She's the bee's knees, don't you think?

How about that State of the Union speech, huh? I'm all for being involved with politics, but the 89 interruptions for applause & standing ovations make me crazy and I can't watch. So I had to read the transcript this morning. And then I immediately dashed over to read the Democratic rebuttal. And now I'm ready to move to Switzerland.

Did you know that Jamie Oliver swears and has a short temper? Whatever with that. Any man who can make the word "pukka" sound cool and get away with naming his kid Poppy is okay in my book.

Could it be...? The glory days of music are returning...? First PJ Harvey starts teasing people with new material, and now Liz Phair has a new album on the way. Is it just me, or is the sun shining a little brighter than usual today?

It seems that The Source and XXL magazines are fighting. And in other shocking news, water is wet.

Some people appear to be worried about the lack of talent on this season of "American Idol". Uh, talent? Who watches for the talent?


Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2003 | 3:46 pm
Pass the iodine...
If my theoretical Paris trip isn't your idea of a good time, then how about a "literary pub crawl" in Dublin? And if that's not your idea of a good time, then just stay home already. Sheesh.

I missed this show due to pre-holiday hysteria, but check out Gael Garcia Bernal guest DJ'ing on KCRW's "Morning Becomes Eclectic". Yes, there's pictures. But remember, it's all about the music!

Oh my gosh, will someone please buy me this shirt? I want to wear it while driving on the freeway. Sort of a pre-emptive measure, if you will.

Lesson of the Day: Never lick an envelope while talking on the phone. You might think you're being all multi-tasky and efficient by doing this, but severe paper cuts can occur and it's very hard to put a Band-Aid on your tongue, as I have recently learned.


Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2003 | 9:39 am
With a "moo-moo" here...
The Ivy is so pass� now that everyone's eating lunch at Our Cathedral of Our Lady of Angels downtown. I don't know about you, but standing in the deli line with several nuns would definitely be the highlight of my day.

The execs at ABC have decided that serving alcohol at the "Jimmy Kimmel Show" isn't such a good idea. (Apparently one girl tossed her cookies in front of a bigwig.) Oh, please. Anybody who's ever been within 100 yards of a college campus could have seen this one coming from the very beginning.

Music's best "are-they-aren't-they" duo The White Stripes have a new album out on April 15th, titled "Elephant". You can read the tracklisting or better yet, get prepared for the new album by brushing up on their musical performances. That Jack White sure is a talented lil' thing, don't you think?

The Girl Scouts. They stand for leadership, creativity, teamwork, all that good stuff. But you can keep your merit badges and just hand over the cookies. To quote the lovely Adriana, "Who needs boys when you have these babies?" She's so smart.

But of course, you'll need milk to go with your cookies. The folks over at 7-Up have decided, though, that milk is boring, so they're introducing a new milk-flavored product. The name? Raging Cow. I'll just have water, thanks. No angry bovines for me.


Monday, Jan. 27, 2003 | 1:37 pm
La LA la la la la...
This man has never watched TV. Until now. Dude, let me tell you something: you're not missing much.

The Donnas and OK Go played the El Rey the other night and the scenesters were out in full-force. "The all-ages crowd � decidedly more "120 Minutes" than "TRL," with dudes in mesh trucker hats outnumbering girls in Britney newsboy caps by a margin of four to one � couldn't even be bothered to reply to one of bassist Donna F.'s notoriously bad jokes."

Mesh trucker hats=the Juicy Couture sweatsuit for men.

Hey, remember when I was ranting about "The Smurfs" not being on anymore? Well, somebody over at Cartoon Network has finally remedied the problem. I watched the show on Saturday morning and I can safely report that Brainy Smurf is still a pain in the ass.


Monday, Jan. 27, 2003 | 9:33 am
Bye-Bye Birdie...
Yawn...after four hours of sleep and no coffee in the house, I really need five good things to cheer me up this morning. Come join.

At a party last week, I ran into someone who just got back from Sundance, and he raved about the film "American Splendor". It turns out that he wasn't the only one who felt that way.

If you were busy watching that Audrey Hepburn movie marathon yesterday instead of the Super Bowl, then you are totally my friend. But that also means that you missed all the commercials! C'mon, support corporate America and learn about athletic shoes and beer. It's your patriotic duty.

"Gum" is the new dirty word on the streets of Manhattan. Literally. Please forgive my immaturity when I say eewwwww...

And the countdown begins! Even though the Matisse/Picasso exhibit doesn't start until February 13th, people are already worried about crowds and commutes at the temporary MOMA QNS building. (In case you haven't heard, vowels are "out" for 2003. Pass it on.)

This is going to sound very snarky, but there's something ironic about a supermodel donating to a hunger-relief charity.

Tip of the Day: For those of you that park your cars outside and like to crack the window open a bit, make sure that you don't open the window more than a half-inch or so. Hypothetically speaking, a small bird might fly into your car and become panicked. And that hypothetical bird might spend a lot of time pinballing around in your car before anyone notices that he's there. And said hypothetical bird might get very nervous and spend most of his time hypothetically shitting all over your car's interior. And when that hypothetical bird is finally freed, you might spend a lot of time cursing him and threatening to put him on a hypothetical rotisserie and serve him as an appetizer at your next dinner party. Hypothetically speaking, of course.


Friday, Jan. 24, 2003 | 9:25 am
Nosotros tenemos m�s influencia...
Is President Bush trying to take funding away from Title IX? I certainly hope I'm reading this wrong...but I don't think I am.

Yeah yeah yeah, the Super Bowl is on Sunday. But if you favor martini glasses over beer cozies, good news! AMC is having an Audrey Hepburn movie marathon that afternoon, featuring "Sabrina", "Breakfast at Tiffany's", "Roman Holiday", and "My Fair Lady". God bless every single programmer at AMC! You'll all brilliant!

Jane's Addiction is playing some L.A. dates in the beginning of February. And did you know they also have a new album coming out this summer? (Let's just hope Perry can stay upright until then.)

If you're willing to brave the elements in Manhattan this weekend, take a cab uptown and go see the new Leonardo DaVinci exhibit at the Met. Drink some coffee in the Sculpture Garden to warm up first, and for the love of Pete, make sure to wear your hat! It's positively Arctic out right now. Metropolitan Museum of Art, 1000 Fifth Avenue at 82nd Street, 212/535-7710.

This just in! It's raining Coldplay this weekend! From the Coldplay e-zine (thanks to The Modern Age for the news):

On Sunday January 26, two hours after the Superbowl ends, Coldplay will perform live from Hollywood Blvd for the premiere of the Jimmy Kimmel Show. The chat show is scheduled to air live nationwide on ABC at Midnight ET, 9.00 PM PT.

Los Angeles Coldplay fans who want to see the band perform in person should head down to Hollywood Blvd in front of the Kodak Theater. The entire street will be closed to traffic between Highland and La Brea so make sure you get there well before 9.00 PM. Please note, this is a live Coldplay performance not a full-scale Coldplay concert.

Ten bucks for whoever spots Gwyneth first! (Okay, so I added that last part.)


Thursday, Jan. 23, 2003 | 3:05 pm
Showtime, Synergy!
It just keeps getting better and better, doesn't it? Jerry Springer wants to run for US Senate. As a democrat. Hello, Libertarian Party...

Did you know that the Cat & Fiddle Restaurant serves Stella Artois beer on tap? Neither did I! Last night was a very happy night, indeed. Cat & Fiddle Restaurant and Pub, 6530 Sunset Blvd., 323/468-3800.

Oh, and a happy hello to the three rock & roll boys that sat next to our table last night! I really wanted to join your discussion on whether or not Barbie & the Rockers were good for feminism, but I was always more of a Jem & the Holograms fan. Maybe next time...

Best Email of the Day: My brother's workout saga continues: "Get this, I worked out last night. I did biceps, triceps, chest, & abs. Today, my legs are sore. I have got some serious issues..." I would disagree with him, but I know our family too well. We're both doomed.


Thursday, Jan. 23, 2003 | 9:21 am
Un bon c�ur n'est jamais petit...
"Books" is becoming the dirty word of big business. First Random House fires Ann Godoff, and now AOL is trying to find a buyer for their book division. It's enough to make you want to buy a printing press and start producing books in your garage.

All this worry about business can really wear a girl out, which is why I need to go to France. God bless the New York Times for correctly guessing a solution. I think if I look at some pretty sunflowers in Aquitaine, the world will be a good place.

(Photo Credit: Sally Dillon/Lonely Planet Images)

Aaaah, I feel better already.

Ha! It seems that the Flaming Lips sweet-talked Beth Orton into accompanying them on their Kylie cover.

And for those of us who are either too broke, too cheap, or too lazy to go buy the "Chicago" soundtrack, you can now listen to three tracks online. (You know you came out of that movie secretly wishing you were a glammed-up stage moll. Just admit it already.)


Wednesday, Jan. 22, 2003 | 1:31 pm
Can you hear me now?
The Rolling Stones have performed quite possibly the most scandalous act of all time--they were smoking onstage at Madison Square Garden Saturday night! And Mayor Bloomberg was none too happy about it. He's also trying to ban smoking in Central Park. Look, Bloomie, that's great and all, but do you think you could get back to fixing the public school system? Fabulous, thanks so much.

Oh, my goodness, a website about books! This is unbelievable! You can call me a book slut any time, I'll take it as a compliment. (Yes, fellow 9 to 5ers, it's work-safe.)

If you had to cancel your cable because it was either that or give up food for the month, go watch "The Daily Show" recaps on comedycentral.com. Tell me, how can one man be so funny? Is it a genetic defect or something? Either way, Jon Stewart is definitely my write-in candidate for 2004.

I spent most of the summer losing my mind after hearing repeated listenings of Kylie Minogue's "Can't Get You Out of My Head" (God knows I tried, Kylie). Fortunately, The Flaming Lips felt my pain and made me a cover version of the song. Awww, guys, you're the sweetest.

Best Overheard Conversation of the Day: While riding in my building's elevator this morning, a man was leaving a message for someone on his cell phone. It went a little something like this: "Hi, it's me. Listen, your phone's broken. Why? Call me, okay? 'Bye." I just smiled politely 'cause I'm nice like that.


Wednesday, Jan. 22, 2003 | 9:50 am
He come groovin' up slowly...
I am so slow sometimes, I amaze myself. Did you know that Emily Watson is currently performing in "Twelfth Night" and "Uncle Vanya" at the Brooklyn Academy of Music? And not only that, but both plays are directed by Sam Mendes! It looks like the New York Times is quite the fan of both productions. Brooklyn Academy of Music's Harvey Theatre, 651 Fulton Place, 718/636-4100.

Apparently the "Abbey Road" album cover is a little too racy for some people, so they're airbrushing the Beatles.

There is so much wrong with this piece of news, I don't even know where to start.

Look, it's an interview with Beck! (Psst! I saw him at the Ben & Jerry's on Third Avenue once, and then I saw him at LAX several months later. Can I just tell you, he has the cutest pink cheeks I've ever seen. Flutter, flutter...)

People are finally starting to take $5 wine seriously. $5? Ha! Come talk to me when you're taking $1.99 wine seriously! Then I'll listen.


Tuesday, Jan. 21, 2003 | 1:15 pm
But they're magically delicious!
I know I go on and on about KEXP all the time, but humor me. I just discovered their online archive of in-studio guests. I am delirious with joy. I know it might be overwhelming at first, so here's some suggestions to start: Rosie Thomas, "Wedding Day"; Death Cab For Cutie, "I Was a Kaleidoscope"; Neko Case, "Ghost Wiring"; Doves, "Last Broadcast" (acoustic!)

(Note: I picked pretty songs for those of you that might still be easing back into the work week.)

Which invention could you not live without? Well, if you're like 40% of Americans, you would say your toothbrush. And frankly, you'll get no argument from me on that. Two thumbs up for oral hygiene.

Word of the Day: "Snarks", as brought to us by the lovely Johanna. Example sentence: "God, I'm so irritated! My roommate's boyfriend keeps coming over and eating all of our Lucky Charms! I have such a bad case of the snarks right now, it's not even funny."


Tuesday, Jan. 21, 2003 | 9:49 am
It's not easy being green...
There are some happy happy people in Australia this morning. Why? Because they got to go to the Big Day Out Festival and hear Miss Polly Jean Harvey play some new songs. Call me Kermit, I am so green with jealousy right now.

Entertainment Weekly really likes Zwan's new album (aka: Billy Corgan's new band). They gave it an A-. Billy seems less than enthusiastic, however. Cheer up, Billy! You'll do better next semester!

I adore Wes Anderson films and IKEA is a huge guilty pleasure, so when I found out that the two were working together, I almost collapsed from sheer happiness. Go watch the two new commercials that Wes directed for those designing Swedes. Then rent "Bottle Rocket" and spend the rest of the day quoting Dignan. Your friends will love you for it.

I had no idea who David Gordon Green was before reading this article, but now I'm all excited to see his film "All the Real Girls". Plus, it stars Zooey Deschanel, who is named after one of my most favorite characters in all of literature. Oh, yeah, and she's a good actress, too.


Monday, Jan. 20, 2003 | 2:25 pm
You know you're still #1...
Gasp! Did you know that baby boomers aren't allowed to audition for "American Idol"? Now that's just a shame, since my mom can play a mean accordion.

Sympathy for the Record Industry? Hardly. But when that's the name of your independent record label, you're probably a real cool cat. Learn more about Long Gone John and why his most successful discoveries--including The White Stripes and every other Detroit-based band--love him and leave him.

Best Best Friend of the Day: Reason #1,253,964 while the lovely Adriana is my best friend in the whole wide world. Yesterday, after being involved in a major car accident and spending a good part of her day in the emergency room, she still had the wherewithal to call me during the Golden Globes and say (albeit groggily), "Sharon Stone, man. What's up with that?" Awwww...my poor little kitten. Rest up and feel better, okay?

(P.S. I'm so sorry I talked you out of buying "Girls Just Wanna Have Fun" on DVD when we were at Target the other day. I don't know what I was thinking.)


Monday, Jan. 20, 2003 | 9:26 am
Hooray for Hollywood!
Oh, my Lord, I'm gone for one weekend and the entire entertainment world goes to hell in a handbasket.

So of course I watched the Golden Globe Awards last night, which inspired me to give out my own Awards for the Awards:

Best Use of the Word "Pleistocene" in an Acceptance Speech: Meryl Streep. You gotta love those Yale graduates, don't you? Always swinging their historical knowledge around. Love it.

Best Terrorized Use of Flattery: Anyone and everyone that complimented Harvey Weinstein. Those stars were shaking in their Manolos every time his name came up. And anyone who read that New Yorker article knows why--the man's a little unhinged. (I say that with love, Harvey! You're the best!)

Best Knowledge of the Phrase "There's No Such Thing as Bad Publicity": Lara Flynn Boyle. Say what you want about the faux-ballerina look. That's the point. For someone who wasn't even nominated for an award, she certainly knows how to get her name in the papers.

Best Use of Restraint: Richard Gere for not pushing Sharon Stone off the stage. How mortifying was that moment? I had to hide behind my glass of wine, I was cringing so much.

Best Comment to a Nosy Journalist: Meryl Streep is sweeping these Awards! Apparently, she told one journalist, "Don't get near me. I smell like a camel." That is so awesome.

And speaking of movies, how did "Kangaroo Jack" become the #1 movie this weekend? For the love of all that is holy, how did this happen? I want answers, people.

Adrien Brody is hanging out with Puff--excuse me, P. Diddy--now? Wha...?

Finally! Some good news! Scientists are putting their brains to good use by making a better mascara. Their moms must be so proud.

And for anyone (like me) who is stuck at work today (so wrong, so wrong), here are five good things to cheer you up. You're so very welcome.


- last entry / next entry -

what you missed:
I'd rather be working for a paycheck than waiting to win the lottery... - Monday, Apr. 03, 2006
I remember when I lost my mind, there was something so pleasant about that phase... - Friday, Mar. 24, 2006
The stars came falling on our heads, but they're just old light... - Monday, Mar. 20, 2006
I leave the party at 3am. Alone, thank God... - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
You're a sweet, sweet girl, but's it's a cruel, cruel world... - Thursday, Feb. 16, 2006

free web site hit counter