now
then
details, baby
pass me a note
seaofangels
Learn
five good things
new york times
los angeles times
la weekly
village voice
citybeat
time
newsweek
q
mojo
nme
venus
new yorker
paper
la magazine
the guardian
Look
pretty pictures
suza scalora
moca
lacma
getty
bergamot
moma
metropolitan
whitney
guggenheim
Listen
amoeba
aron's
sea level
kexp.seattle
kxlu.los angeles
kcrw.santa monica
indie.los angeles
Leave
the modern age
catherine's pita
kimya
dear ida
mad orange fools
catchdubs
katherine hall
kate sullivan
bookslut
designed by lex
hosted by..

- last entry / next entry -

Friday, Jan. 17, 2003 | 9:45 am
Watch out for the penguins!
I have devastating news for a Friday morning: the banana could be extinct within 10 years. Don't cry, be strong, we'll get through this together.

One of my goals this weekend is to see Pedro Almodovar's film "Talk to Her". However, other goals include organizing my closet and doing some much-needed vaccuuming, so I might have to settle for reading an interview with Pedro instead. (I'll still have Raisinettes, though, don't worry.)

Finally, a little of my faith has been restored in the television industry. "The Simpsons" has been renewed through 2005. It's been on for 16 years now! I am so old...

Who knew that penguins were so much trouble? Certainly not the zookeepers at the San Francisco Zoo. "We've lost complete control," says one. "It's a free-for-all in here." Let's just hope the insanity doesn't spread to the monkey cages.

Have you heard about the $41 & $50 hamburgers that are currently invading New York? That's nice and all, but my grandpa and I agree on one thing: In & Out is the best. Discussion over.

And of course, some out & about's to start the day off right:

Wilshire Boulevard, Beverly Hills

Los Robles Avenue, Pasadena

Birdview Avenue, Malibu

Alley, Los Angeles


Thursday, Jan. 16, 2003 | 2:32 pm
Standing there behind the counter...
Sorry, kittens, I'm swamped like Florida today, so the updates are scarce. I promise, more fun things tomorrow. But until then...

I don't know how many times I've said to myself, "Damn, if I only knew how to say that in Cockney english slang!" Fortunately, that will no longer be a problem.

Song of the Day: "Karen" by The Go-Betweens. A boy loves a girl who works in a library. "Helps me find Hemingway / Helps me find Genet / Helps me find Brecht / Helps me find Chandler / Helps me find James Joyce / She always makes the right choice!" And so does he, apparently.


Thursday, Jan. 16, 2003 | 9:32 am
Hollywood & Vine...
Is it time for the Sundance Film Festival already? It sure is! Even if you can't trek to Utah, go browse their website so you know what films to look forward to. Here's a push in the right direction: "The Blues", a documentary feature on blues music with work from Martin Scorsese, Wim Wenders, and Mike Figgis.

Finally! Some information on Cobra Lily! I always pass this little bar when I'm driving on Wilshire, but no one seems to know anything about it. But they have sangria, spanish wines, and tapas. Race you there. Cobra Lily, 8442 Wilshire Boulevard, 323/651-5051.

It seems that since the boyband debacle has drawn to a close, MTV needs a new fad to sink its talons into. So they chose punk rock. Well, isn't that just fantastic?

And speaking of rock music, Lollapalooza might make a comeback this year, but only if they get enough corporate sponsorship. Y'know, if we each sent in $1, this whole ugly mess could be avoided.

For anyone that has either sped or crawled into Los Angeles via the 101 freeway, you know how nice it is to see the Capitol Records building on the city's horizon. Don't you think it's time to learn more about it? Of course it is. For example, did you know that the needle on top blinks out the word "Hollywood" in Morse code? You do now.


Wednesday, Jan. 15, 2003 | 2:36 pm
A flower for you...
It's a bad day for me if I lose my favorite pair of socks. That, however, would pale in comparison to losing 30 samples of the bubonic plague virus. Yes, because Americans don't have enough to worry about right now.

These kids ditched high school to protest a possible war. Unlike me, who ditched high school to protest high school.

Ooh, how gorgeous is this book? It's almost as good as having the real thing.

Best Compliment of the Day: Someone described this site as being "raw, jubilant, and free". Hell yeah! I'm all aglow with happiness now.


Wednesday, Jan. 15, 2003 | 9:42 am
The caravan has all my friends...
It's Wednesday, which means that the fabulous Santa Monica farmer's market is in full bloom this morning. Happy day! But if you're nowhere near Arizona & 3rd Street, find the one that's near you and go buy some navel oranges or better yet, edible flower salad. (It makes January go by that much faster).

(Photo Credit: Lori Shepler/LA Times)

Much to my embarrassment, I squealed with glee when I heard about the release date for the new Harry Potter book.

In an odd display of timing, Tori Amos has decided to tour the East Coast in February and March. Let's hope Santa gave her a hat and mittens for Christmas. She'll need them.

Nick Hornby has a new book out?! Y'know, you can't swing a dead cat without hitting Mr. Joe Millionaire, and meanwhile Nick Hornby gets lost in the shuffle. There is something very wrong with American media.

But I digress. The book looks at 31 of his favorite songs and songwriters, including Ani Difranco's "Out of Range" and Van Morrison's "Caravan". (Nick, call me! We need to make mix tapes for each other!)

And if that isn't enough, you can read an excerpt from "Songbook" that looks at Ryan Adam's "Oh My Sweet Carolina". You are too good to us!

Like you needed another reason to go to Amoeba. On January 22, Tegan & Sara will be there with their guitars. (In all fairness, I'm not familiar with their music, but their in-between discussions are worth the price of admission.) Then boogie on down to the Knitting Factory that same night for yet another set. Don't you just love generous musicians? Amoeba Music, 7pm, 6400 Sunset Boulevard, Hollywood, 323/245-6400, free. Knitting Factory, 8pm, 7021 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood, 323/463-0204, $10


Tuesday, Jan. 14, 2003 | 1:27 pm
Shoot an apple off my head...
Do you know why I have such fantastic friends? Because they tell me about important things, like Coldplay's Chris Martin's acoustic set & interview on KROQ. Glory be.

"The popularity of cargo pants has proven that people will put up with just about anything." If I'm ever trapped in an elevator, I hope I'm stuck with David Sedaris. After you're done reading his collected works, go hear about his days as a Christmas elf (named Crumpet, of all things). Be prepared to give a snappy comeback when your office mates start asking, "What's so funny?"

Second only to driving on La Cienega Boulevard, the Juicy Couture sweatsuit is the bane of my existence. Jeans and a t-shirt, people. It's a classic. Don't let it die.

Best "I Couldn't Make This Stuff Up If I Tried" Moment of the Day: While using a public restroom today, the woman in the stall next to me insisted on talking on her cell phone the entire time. The entire time. Call me a Luddite, but I think this technology revolution is starting to get out of hand.


Tuesday, Jan. 14, 2003 | 9:53 am
Yawn...
What a slow news day so far. I guess now I have time to catch up on all my cooking and cleaning. Ahem.

The Los Angeles Times ran a lovely feature on Herb Ritts several days after he passed away, complete with photo gallery. So sad...

Yet another article about how the music industry is out of touch and going broke. Cry me a river. On the plus side, however, Jeff Tweedy from Wilco chimes in with some of his opinions: "[M]y gut instincts tell me piracy is the least of the industry�s problems. People aren�t downloading stuff because they don�t like music�they�re downloading because they can�t get enough of it." Did you hear that, Lars?

If you A) live in Los Angeles, and B) are up at a decent hour on the weekdays, then you've probably been wondering what's happened to KNBC's zany weatherman Christopher Nance. It turns out he's as crack-addled as you thought he was.


Monday, Jan. 13, 2003 | 3:09 pm
I'm living in the wrong city this week...
If I'm half as amazing as this woman when I'm 82 years old, then my life will have been a wild success. Case in point: "Q: What about fears? A: I have my share, don't you? I'm afraid I've run my charge card beyond its limit. Again. Afraid my '88 car will give out when I'm gunning it in the carpool lane without a passenger." We're practically sisters.

I know, it's winter, all you want to do is stay home and watch some reality television. Too bad. You have to go to the reading at the Used Book Cafe on Thursday, January 16th. Melissa Banks will be there (reading new fiction)! And Elizabeth Crane! AND Emily Jenkins! Catch me! Used Book Cafe, 126 Crosby Street, NYC, 212/334-3324

Oh, yeah, Ryan Adams will be there the following night. It's for a great cause, but with a sold-out show of only 200 tickets, you know it will be a hipster-scene nightmare. Support the store the old-fashioned way and buy some books over the weekend instead.

Lesson of the Day: Never put a paper cup in the microwave. Never. Not only will it make your coffee taste like a burning tree, but you'll be forced to answer questions such as "What's that charred, acrid smell?" and "Who's going to pay for all this damage?" When in doubt, use a mug.


Monday, Jan. 13, 2003 | 9:26 am
And we're off!
Good morning world! Did you miss me? Awww...you're so sweet.

Five Good Things has been updated for this week, so start your Monday off right.

Over the weekend, I discovered I'm not the only one who thinks "Empire Records" is one of the best movies ever. "Damn the man! Save the Empire!"

I love Christopher Walken. Everyone thinks he's so scary and creepy, but he's really just a guy who's been married for 35 years and drives a Volvo. He's one step away from being a soccer mom! Who knew?

Just when I was getting used to the idea of Jess & Rory getting together on "The Gilmore Girls," fate has dealt me an ugly surprise: Jess is getting his own spin-off. It is indeed a cruel, cruel world.

Evan Dando has a new album coming out! He writes some of the prettiest lil' ditties, and if you don't believe me, maybe this site will change your mind. Just trust me, okay?

The New York Times made me happy on Sunday morning when I saw the headline "West Coast Bands are Re-Energizing Hard Rock". And then it turned out to be 5000 words on Audioslave and how great the new Korn album is. Woo. I did the crossword puzzle instead.


Friday, Jan. 10, 2003 | 2:17 pm
One more before I go...
Best Title of the Day (tie): Why Geese Don't Get Obese by Eric P. Widmaier & A Personal Account of How I Failed at Everything by Late Night Television.

It turns out that you can't sell your family on Ebay, so you can just take that price tag off Grandma's ear now. Really, have you no shame?

Elijah Wood likes music. I mean, he really likes music (insert hobbit-related joke here).

Speaking of which, don't forget that Spoon & Ben Kweller are the guests for tomorrow night's "Austin City Limits". Tape it so you'll have something to watch on Sunday afternoon.

You know what's funny? Saying to someone "Are you on crack?" as a joke, only to find out later that yes, they are in fact smoking crack. Hi-freakin'-larious!


Friday, Jan. 10, 2003 | 11:58 am
Workin' for the weekend...
How happy are you that it's Friday? Whoa, simmer down, Tiger.

You know, we don't know as much about tomatoes as we should. Luckily, Ryan Adams is here to help. Hop on over to his website for their first monthly Tomato Day. Sigh...tortured musicians just aren't what they used to be.

So you were supposed to go see your best friend's boyfriend's band do the midnight set at Whisky-a-Go-Go tonight, but she totally flaked. What a brat. Go to the midnight movie at the Nuart instead. Tonight they're showing "True Romance", you lucky kid, you. Nuart Theatre, 11272 Santa Monica Boulevard, 310/478-6379

For my lovely New York friends, you better hustle down to the Knitting Factory tonight at 9pm so you can watch Joseph Arthur's set. It's $12, so save your cab fare and take the subway instead. (Don't cry, Los Angeles people: he's coming to the Troubador on January 16th. Call me, we'll carpool). Knitting Factory, 74 Leonard Street, NYC, 212/219-3006, $12 Troubador, 9081 Santa Monica Boulevard, Hollywood, 310/276-6168, $15

It's the second Sunday of the month, and you know what that means! Get some coffee and drive over the hill for the Rose Bowl Flea Market in Pasadena. Even if you don't buy anything, you know the people-watching will be fantastic. Rose Bowl Flea Market, 7:30-4:30, 1001 Rose Bowl Drive, 323/560-7469, $6

And on Sunday night, when you're spent (in more ways than one), make sure to call your mom. She probably would like to hear from you.

But before you do any of this, don't forget to buy tickets for Sleater-Kinney's shows at the Henry Ford Theatre on February 7 & 8. They're onsale today. Tip: rock & roll makes an excellent Valentine's Day present. Henry Ford Theatre, 6126 Hollywood Boulevard, 213/468-1770.

Have fun out there! Make sure to send me a postcard!


Thursday, Jan. 09, 2003 | 7:44 pm
Picture pages, picture pages...
Some out & about's to keep you kids satisfied. Don't you just love this city so?

Brooks Avenue, Venice

Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica

Abbot Kinney, Venice

Main & Rose, Venice


Thursday, Jan. 09, 2003 | 1:20 pm
Brothers & fairies & eels, oh my!

Best E-mail of the Day: I heard from my brother today. Says he: "I am on this new workout plan. Tuesday was leg day, so I spent most of the time either running or on the leg machines. So, yesterday I feel a little tight, but no big deal. Then today rolls around. It has been getting progressively worse. You know how little kids kind of walk bowlegged at first? Well, that is me, yet it isn't so cute and funny when you are 6'4". I think I frightened some people going to get lunch."

And another New Year's resolution bites the dust...

When my brother and I were growing up, we weren't even allowed to have a goldfish in the house. This family got to keep an eel in the bathtub. Some people have all the luck.

Oh my goodness, if you do one thing today, go and look at Suza Scalora's website. It is just pretty pretty pretty. See what I mean?

(Photo credit: Suza Scalora)


Thursday, Jan. 09, 2003 | 9:17 am
I'll pencil you in...
So much to do, so little time...

You need a little culture in your life. So get off the couch and go to the Stephen Cohen gallery so you can see Lauren Greenfield's exhibit, "Girl Culture". It's only there until February 8th, so be sure to schedule your procrastination accordingly. Stephen Cohen Gallery, 7358 Beverly Boulevard, 323/937-5525.

If three hours of Scorsese wasn't enough for you this holiday season, good news! UCLA is hosting the Martin Scorsese Film Series all through January. (Rumor has it that the man himself is showing up on January 16th. Sshh, don't tell anyone.)

The bee-yoo-ti-ful Carnegie Hall is again hosting the annual Tibet House benefit. Laurie Anderson and David Bowie are gonna be there, so shine your shoes and sit up straight, for heaven's sake.

How much do we love Flea? THIS MUCH! Why? Because he started a music school in Silverlake, so anyone who wants to play music can. AND because Flea's backing it, tuition is cheap. We heart philanthropic bass players! Silverlake Conservatory of Music, 3920 W. Sunset Boulevard, 323/665-3363.

Nigella Lawson makes me so happy, I can't even tell you. I want them to release her first season of shows on DVD because they are so damn soothing to watch. But until then, I'll have to read her "At My Table" series in the New York Times. Pull up a chair.


Wednesday, Jan. 08, 2003 | 12:48 pm
Kill your television...
I know, I know, it's cool to claim to hate your television. Our "fight the good fight!" friends at Consumer Reports couldn't agree more. They've recently released a report that details how the cable companies are bilking us out of our milk money. In fact, "rate hikes are funding a series of mergers in the industry that are meant to increase the operators' monopoly power, eroding consumer choice and enabling the companies to keep raising rates." Rat bastards!

I know what you're thinking: "But I have to have cable so I can watch 'Sex & the City' and marvel at Carrie's ability to wear fake flowers!" I've got more bad news for you, Buttercup.

Venus Zine is fabulous. I just saw it for the first time today and I'm embarrassed for not having found it sooner. Go browse their website to find Sleater-Kinney's international tour dates and an interview with quite possibly the best-named band ever: Lucy Loves Schroeder. Rockin'.

Best Moment of Today: Standing in Tower Records, reading magazines with eight or ten other people milling around. "I'm a Believer" by the Monkees comes on and right on cue, everyone sings "Now I'm a believer!" along with Micky Dolenz. The music will bring us together, people. Mark my words.


Wednesday, Jan. 08, 2003 | 9:34 am
Your iPod is going to be busy...
Will it ever end? The New York Times keeps it coming with their Top 10 "alternative" music list. It even comes with a helpful warning: "Many of these CD's may not be available at chain record stores". So don't go pestering your local clerk at Sam Goody's, you hear?

Which reminds me...we need an alternative for the word "alternative". It's sooo 1995. Let me know what you come up with. The best response gets...um, well, nothing, really. But I'll tell all my friends that you're cool.

Guess what? Seattle has a great music station! And it's online, so now all you kids stuck in Manhattan, Kansas can groove like the urbanite you fancy yourself to be. And when you need a break, read up on John Richards and his "Morning Faithful".

For those of us in L.A. who like juicy, vacuous gossip with our equally vacuous nonfat decaf morning lattes, rejoice. The New York Post is coming to a newsstand near you. But you'll have to pay $1 instead of a New Yorker's measly 25 cents. You know, inflation and all.

Don't you love it when your friends are on the radio? Listen to my friend's husband on NPR's "Morning Edition". He doesn't like the celebrities so much, but that's okay. We forgive him.

There's been some happy flutterings around town lately regarding Sugarplum Bakery on Beverly. Go there and get one of these...and make sure to thumb your nose at the Starbucks next door. Sugarplum Bakery, 7122 Beverly Boulevard, 323/934-7900

(Photo credit: Genaro Molina/LA Times)


Tuesday, Jan. 07, 2003 | 6:58 pm
Two minutes on high

Awww...even rock stars have to microwave their own mini-mart pizza.

See yhnr.org for more of the lovely Albert Hammond Jr. and the Strokes in this month's Q magazine.

Some of you might be a little confused about Bush's new economic stimulus package. I'm with you. So I asked my brother, who is smart and wears a tie to work, to summarize it in 50 words or less. This is what he sent me:

"Economy stinks. To avoid the pitfalls of his father, [Bush] realizes he needs to get the economy going again to keep his job in 2004. So, he 'proposed' a bill to cut dividend taxes and income taxes in 2004 & 2006. Still has to go to Congress though."

Isn't he the best? My brother, I mean.


Tuesday, Jan. 07, 2003 | 9:42 am
Coffee emergency
Hazy Shade of Winter - Malibu is burning. Again. It's January, aren't we supposed to be having mudslides and flooding? Damn heat wave.

Rolling Stone wants to kick off 2003 by telling you what's going to be cool--like you care what they think. Nice to see they're taking credit for the White Stripes' success, though.

What's with the Jimmy Fallon hate? Some people take it to extremes: "He's the Justin Timberlake of "SNL" dudes. He's got some talent and is cute and nice, but you can't help but hope he'll either be horribly disfigured, or wind up setting himself on fire while on a coke binge, like Richard Pryor." Ouch, dude. Tell us what you really think.

Don't throw the rice just yet: It looks like the tag team of Fab & Drew aren't getting married after all. I'm shocked--shocked! Page Six is always so reliable!

It has recently been brought to my attention that there are no less than 28 films on the New York Times' Top 10 films of 2002 list. Which ones did Michiko like, though? 'Cause those are the only ones that matter.

And speaking of more Top 10 lists, check out Laura's Top 1 of 2002 list. Short, sweet, and full of hysterical goodness.

Highlight of this morning's Grammy nominations: Avril Lavigne mispronouning David Bowie's last name. I know she's young and it was early, but can't someone prep the girl beforehand?

Tip O' the Morning: If you're like me and every time you leave your house, you completely forget to buy coffee filters, this one's for you. Take a paper towel (if you don't have any paper towels, use a napkin or, if it's really an emergency, toilet paper) and separate the two-ply to make one-ply. I cannot emphasize the importance of one-ply enough! If it's any thicker, your coffee machine will overflow and not only will you be caffeine-less, but you'll have to clean up a big soggy mess, too (you can guess what kind of morning I've had).

Once you've one-plied, fit it into your coffeemaker's brew basket, trim neatly around the edges (if you keep forgetting to buy scissors, too, just rip it). Then add your coffee and congratulate yourself on being so smart. Then go buy some goddamn filters so you won't have to do this ever again.


- last entry / next entry -

what you missed:
I'd rather be working for a paycheck than waiting to win the lottery... - Monday, Apr. 03, 2006
I remember when I lost my mind, there was something so pleasant about that phase... - Friday, Mar. 24, 2006
The stars came falling on our heads, but they're just old light... - Monday, Mar. 20, 2006
I leave the party at 3am. Alone, thank God... - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
You're a sweet, sweet girl, but's it's a cruel, cruel world... - Thursday, Feb. 16, 2006

free web site hit counter