now
then
details, baby
pass me a note
seaofangels
Learn
five good things
new york times
los angeles times
la weekly
village voice
citybeat
time
newsweek
q
mojo
nme
venus
new yorker
paper
la magazine
the guardian
Look
pretty pictures
suza scalora
moca
lacma
getty
bergamot
moma
metropolitan
whitney
guggenheim
Listen
amoeba
aron's
sea level
kexp.seattle
kxlu.los angeles
kcrw.santa monica
indie.los angeles
Leave
the modern age
catherine's pita
kimya
dear ida
mad orange fools
catchdubs
katherine hall
kate sullivan
bookslut
designed by lex
hosted by..

- last entry / next entry -

Monday, Jan. 06, 2003 | 2:25 pm
The spins...
Overheard today, two guys at the bookstore: "Dude, but she's nineteen, so it's like she's ignorant and high-maintenance." Ooh, barracuda!

I have a spinny chair in the office, and sometimes when it's dead and my boss is gone, I play Hem's version of "Valentine's Day" and spin around and around and around. I did it for 25 minutes the other day. You should, too.


Monday, Jan. 06, 2003 | 9:35 am
Happy employees...
I stopped at the newsstand this morning for coffee and wonky British music magazines (they're so snarky, I love it), and the man who works there asked me to stay because it's only him and the dog at home and "it gets kind of lonely." Broke my heart...

Had lunch at the Gypsy Den with the lovely Tina yesterday. Yes, I trekked to Orange County. I was feeling brave. But that place is the best because everyone there is so fucking nice. You'd think that they'd be all holier-than-thou (especially because it's next door to an Urban Outfitters and their employees reek of self-righteous fury & indignation) but they're not. They're the best. A happy high-five to everyone there.

The New Yorker has hopped on the Icelandic bandwagon with their lovely Bjork summary. Read it, know it, love it.

If you name your company "Murder Inc." then should you be surprised that you're being raided by the police? I didn't think so. Next time name it "Happy Flowers & Sunshine, Inc", guys. It'll make the money laundering less detectable.

And I know I'm about six days late on this, but apparently Michiko Kakutani has decided to savage all the arts, not just books.


Sunday, Jan. 05, 2003 | 9:06 am
Jesus spoke to me...
This morning I got an email from, I shit you not, Jesus. Apparently He is worried about my credit rating. It's sweet that He's concerned and all, but really, can't He just snap his fingers or something and make that little problem disappear? C'mon, it's Jesus! The man walked on water! He shouldn't be reduced to sending spam emails...

Here's some out & about's from the past couple of days. Amuse yourselves.

Sigh, so sad, the Christmas season is officially over.

Can someone explain this to me, please? Because I don't get it.

You've gotta love winter in Los Angeles. Snow what?


Saturday, Jan. 04, 2003 | 9:25 pm
Another Amoeba moment...
I was having a small case of the mean reds this evening, so of course I drove right over to Amoeba to drown my sorrows in the used CDs. While I was thumbing through the H's (really, what is it with me and the H section of Amoeba?), there was this mom and this little 8, 9-year-old kid there, and she was helping him look through the Jimi Hendrix CDs so he could get one. First of all, rock on! I wanted to kiss his cute little face for being so cool. And second, what a great mom to not only buy her kid a Hendrix CD, but to take him to Amoeba to get it. That was definitely my moment of the day.

Oh, and my fortune cookie fortune had some wise words of advice today at lunch: "Lavish spending may be disastrous. Be careful." Well, A) no shit, and B) does spending $8 for tofu & vegetables qualify as "lavish spending?" Because if it does, then the irony just kills me.

And my lucky numbers were 07 14 17 36 43 47. If you play these numbers and win the lottery, please remember where you found them and compensate accordingly (i.e. "lavish spending" would be a nice start)


Friday, Jan. 03, 2003 | 9:55 am
My triumphant return
Wow...so it's been a while. Like nine months. Apparently I have not lost my dramatic flair. Nor my job. I'm still here. I am a tough cookie.

What's that? You want to know what I've been up to? Oh, you're so kind to ask. Lessee...I sucked it up and kept my job. I went for a run one morning, tripped over a rock, and managed to sprain both my wrist and my elbow. (I had to walk home the rest of the way with bleeding knees and felt like I was four years old again). I took a class in 19th Century literature and discovered that Flaubert is too cool for school and Tolstoy was one ambitious motherfucker.

I bought my very own Christmas tree for the first time and managed to get it standing upright all by myself. Then I forced all my friends to come over and look at it so my efforts wouldn't be wasted. I saw some amazing concerts (Doves at the Mayan, Ryan Adams at the "new" Wiltern) and spent waaayyy too much money on CDs. I renewed my library card and New Yorker subscription, sent my brother a care package of mix CDs, and roasted pumpkin seeds over Halloween with my mom. They taste like chicken.

I played Cranium for the very first time and kicked everyone's ass by spelling "baroque" backwards in six seconds WITHOUT EVEN WRITING IT DOWN. I bought fabulous Christmas wrapping paper that everybody loved and immediately ripped to shreds. I literally bumped into Fab, the drummer from the Strokes, in the 'H' section at Amoeba Records and spent 30 seconds blushing and stammering out my hi's and goodbye's, thusly cementing my un-hip, un-cool status. That might have been the highlight of 2002.

Anyway, for the hoards of people that I'm sure are reading this, I hope your 2002 was lovely and bittersweet and heartbreaking and exhilarating, as all good years should be. I'm off to drink some black coffee and listen to KEXP and find my shoes.


- last entry / next entry -

what you missed:
I'd rather be working for a paycheck than waiting to win the lottery... - Monday, Apr. 03, 2006
I remember when I lost my mind, there was something so pleasant about that phase... - Friday, Mar. 24, 2006
The stars came falling on our heads, but they're just old light... - Monday, Mar. 20, 2006
I leave the party at 3am. Alone, thank God... - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
You're a sweet, sweet girl, but's it's a cruel, cruel world... - Thursday, Feb. 16, 2006

free web site hit counter